![]() |
| Struggling to cross the finish line at the King of The Smokies Triathlon(10/17/2010) |
It's hard to believe that less that five months ago I ran a half-marathon(my first). If you looked at me today, "runner"would be the last thing you'd think. To be honest, you wouldn't have thought "runner" five months ago either but that's neither here nor there. The heat of summer in the south and "sympathy" weight has not been kind to my running. It was just hard to motivate myself to get off the couch, lace up the shoes, and leave the air conditioning to sweat in 95 degree heat with 90% humidity. But really it's a little more complicated than that.
You see my wife and I started running last December. We just signed up for a 5k and started running. I really enjoyed it(not really the running but the togetherness). We ran a few 5k's, an 8k, a 10k, and we had a blast. But when my wife got pregnant, I lost my running partner. That's not to say it's her fault that I stopped running(I take full responsibility for that), I just didn't enjoy it as much without her. And then after a few weeks off, I just got lazy. It was easier to skip a run than lace up the shoes and hit the road. Days turned into weeks, weeks turned into months and here I sit 20 pounds heavier and a whole lot slower. But I can't change the past, so there's no point making excuses. I need a plan of action.
My Plan of Action:
- Get GPS watch to track miles
check
- Use Sport Tracks to analyze data from watch
check
- Get new shoes
check
- Get my ass out of bed in the morning and run
uh, not so much
So here's the deal, I love to sleep. Always have. I could easily sleep 12 hours/day and be happy as a lark. But ask any runner when the best time to run is....IN THE MORNING.
So that's what I need to do. I need to get my ass out of bed at 6:00am and I need to run.

No comments:
Post a Comment